Tirzepatide monograph · Evidence review
Direct Meds Tirzepatide Review: Cost, Oral Option & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of Direct Meds tirzepatide — a rare oral/sublingual option, all-inclusive pricing, the compounded caveat, and the verification gaps.
Researched & written by Alan Pierce · last updated
Clinical Pharmacology Writer
FDA warning letter
FDA issued directmeds.com, Inc. dba DirectMeds a warning letter in September 2025 (Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs to United States Consumers Over the Internet (Telehealth)). Read the letter on FDA’s own warning-letter database.
On this page
Editorial pick
CoreAge Rx
$149/mo flat
Doctor-reviewed tirzepatide with one flat price and built-in human support.
Advertising disclosure · we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Check availability- vs median
- $130/mo below the $279 median
- Market
- $109–$429/mo across 388 providers
- Dispensed
- Compounded tirzepatide (503A)
Popular alternative
Care Bare Rx
LegitScript-certified, with oral as well as injectable tirzepatide and a real brand Ozempic pathway — but per-dose pricing is quiz-gated.
From $199/mo*
Check Care Bare Rx availabilityDirect Meds charges $399 a month for compounded tirzepatide injections, sold as 30-, 60- or 90-day supplies with no membership fee stacked on top. It is one of the few programs offering an oral/sublingual tirzepatide route as well as the standard injection, though it publishes no separate price for that form.
What Direct Meds is
Direct Meds is a compounded-only telehealth pharmacy, launched in 2024, that offers both oral/sublingual and injectable tirzepatide, plus compounded semaglutide. Fees are described as all-inclusive with no separate membership. Two honest caveats up front: the figures below are stated by the company rather than confirmed on a live public price page during our review, and the brand operates across multiple domains — so we present its numbers with that caveat rather than as independently verified.
The compounded-vs-brand question
Two very different products share the name tirzepatide:
- Brand tirzepatide is Eli Lilly's FDA-approved Zepbound (weight management, obstructive sleep apnea) and Mounjaro (type 2 diabetes) — the exact molecule and dose studied in the pivotal trials.
- Compounded tirzepatide is pharmacy-made, not FDA-approved, and was not the product tested in those trials.
Everything Direct Meds dispenses is compounded. That distinction matters more in 2026: the FDA declared the tirzepatide shortage resolved in October 2024, and the enforcement discretion that permitted routine large-scale compounding ended in early 2025 (around February 18, 2025 for 503A pharmacies, March 19, 2025 for 503B outsourcing facilities) — the full timeline is in our guide to whether compounded tirzepatide is still legal in 2026. The oral/sublingual route in particular lacks the injectable's robust absorption and efficacy evidence.
§ Direct Meds — Company-Stated Prices
| Option | Company-stated price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Sublingual tirzepatide | ~$224/month | Unverified; thinner evidence |
| Injectable tirzepatide | ~$399/month | Unverified; compounded |
| Compounded semaglutide | ~$179–$297/mo (intro ~$147) | Different molecule |
| Brand Zepbound (LillyDirect) | ~$299–$449/month | FDA-approved reference point |
What Direct Meds costs in 2026
Per the company, compounded tirzepatide runs roughly $224/month sublingual or ~$399/month injectable, with compounded semaglutide around $179–$297/month (an intro promo around $147). Fees are described as all-inclusive with no separate membership, which is a plus for predictability. The important caveat is that these are company-stated figures we could not confirm on a live public price page, so treat them as a starting point to verify directly rather than a firm quote.
For context, LillyDirect sells brand Zepbound self-pay vials at roughly $299–$449/month depending on dose (prices in effect since December 1, 2025; 28-day supply). For the full cash-price picture, see our Zepbound cost and savings guide.
How the care model holds up
Direct Meds' strengths are a rare oral/sublingual tirzepatide option in addition to injectable, all-inclusive pricing with no separate membership fee, and both molecules available. The trade-offs are significant: the tirzepatide is compounded and not FDA-approved; the pricing is company-stated and could not be independently verified on a live page; it is a newer operator (2024) with an ambiguous footprint across multiple domains; and the states served are not disclosed. Those verification gaps are the main reason to proceed carefully and confirm everything in writing. Tirzepatide carries labeled warnings for acute pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, and a boxed thyroid C-cell tumor warning — see our guides on Zepbound side effects, the gallbladder risk, and the thyroid cancer warning.
FDA warning letter, September 2025
FDA issued directmeds.com, Inc. dba DirectMeds a warning letter in September 2025, posted under the subject line Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs3. We independently confirmed it against FDA's own published warning-letter record rather than repeating a second-hand report, and the reference at the foot of this page links straight to FDA's copy.
We are not going to paraphrase FDA's findings back to you — the letter is public and reading the agency's own words beats reading ours. What matters for how you use this page is that the letter exists and that we are telling you about it while still linking to Direct Meds on commission. Read it alongside the verification gaps below rather than instead of them; the affiliate relationship has not changed, and the notice travels with Direct Meds on every ranking, index and card where we link to the company, not just here.
Does the drug work? (Separate from the provider)
Judge the provider on price, oversight and disclosure; judge the molecule on its trials. Tirzepatide's are strong — roughly 15–21% of body weight over 72 weeks in SURMOUNT-11, and better than semaglutide head-to-head2 — but they were run on the brand drug at FDA-approved doses. Our tirzepatide evidence guide has the full picture.
The honest verdict
Direct Meds is worth a look mainly if you specifically want a rare oral/sublingual tirzepatide option on an all-inclusive fee — and you are comfortable with a compounded, non-FDA-approved product and with the verification gaps. Those gaps are the real reservation: company-stated pricing we could not confirm on a live page, a newer operator with an ambiguous multi-domain footprint, and undisclosed states served. Verify everything in writing before paying. If you prefer a provider with transparent, verifiable pricing and included support, weigh CoreAge Rx; if you specifically want brand tirzepatide, price it against LillyDirect. See our best tirzepatide providers ranking and best place to get Zepbound online roundup.
Frequently asked questions
How much does tirzepatide cost through Direct Meds?
Per the company, compounded tirzepatide runs roughly $224/month sublingual or about $399/month injectable, with compounded semaglutide around $179–$297/month (intro promo about $147). Fees are described as all-inclusive with no separate membership. Importantly, these are company-stated figures we could not confirm on a live public price page, so verify them directly. As a benchmark, brand Zepbound self-pay vials run roughly $299–$449/month via LillyDirect (in effect since December 1, 2025).
Is Direct Meds tirzepatide compounded or brand?
Compounded. Everything Direct Meds dispenses — oral/sublingual and injectable — is compounded, not the FDA-approved branded product, and was not studied in the pivotal trials. The oral/sublingual route in particular lacks the injectable's absorption and efficacy evidence. After the FDA declared the shortage resolved in late 2024, large-scale compounding was restricted in early 2025.
Is Direct Meds legit?
Direct Meds is a compounded telehealth pharmacy launched in 2024 that offers a rare oral/sublingual tirzepatide option on an all-inclusive fee. The reservations are real verification gaps: its pricing is company-stated and could not be independently verified on a live page, it is a newer operator with an ambiguous footprint across multiple domains, and the states it serves are not disclosed. Confirm everything in writing before paying.
Has Direct Meds received an FDA warning letter?
Yes. FDA issued directmeds.com, Inc. dba DirectMeds a warning letter in September 2025, posted under the subject line 'Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs.' We independently confirmed it against FDA's own published record, and the reference list on this page links to the letter so you can read the agency's own words rather than our summary of them. We still link to Direct Meds on commission and disclose the letter wherever we do.
Is sublingual tirzepatide as effective as injections?
It cannot be assumed to be. Tirzepatide's trial-grade efficacy — about 15–21% average weight loss over 72 weeks in SURMOUNT-1, and beating semaglutide in SURMOUNT-5 — was established with the brand injectable molecule. Oral and sublingual tirzepatide formulations were never tested in those trials and generally have weaker absorption and efficacy evidence, so treat the sublingual option with particular caution.
References(3)
- Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, Wharton S, Connery L, Alves B, Kiyosue A, Zhang S, Liu B, Bunck MC, Stefanski A, and the SURMOUNT-1 Investigators (2022). Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity.. New England Journal of Medicine. PMID: 35658024. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/35658024/
- Aronne LJ, Horn DB, le Roux CW, Ho W, Falcon BL, Bays HE, et al. (2025). Tirzepatide as Compared with Semaglutide for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-5).. New England Journal of Medicine. PMID: 40353578. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/40353578/
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2025). Warning Letter — directmeds.com, Inc. dba DirectMeds (MARCS-CMS 716822): Unlawful Sale of Unapproved and Misbranded Drugs.. FDA Warning Letters. https://www.fda.gov/inspections-compliance-enforcement-and-criminal-investigations/warning-letters/directmedscom-inc-dba-directmeds-716822-09092025
About the author
Alan Pierce
Clinical Pharmacology Writer
About Tirzepatide Report · How we verify prices · This page last updated August 2026
Medical disclaimer: This content is for general educational purposes only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a licensed healthcare professional before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment.
Related monograph sections
View allDr. Arevitalize Tirzepatide Review: Cost, an Oral Needle-Free Option & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of Dr. Arevitalize tirzepatide — LegitScript certified, a genuine oral-capsule option, and required lab work.
ReadHenry Meds Tirzepatide Review: Cost, Compounded vs Brand & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of Henry Meds' tirzepatide — cost, the compounded-vs-brand question, how the flat-fee telehealth model works, and the catches.
ReadAgeless Tirzepatide Review: Cost, Oral Drops & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of Try Ageless tirzepatide — $349/month injectable, $199/month sublingual drops, the compounded caveat, and the prepay pricing traps.
ReadHealthRX Tirzepatide Review: Cost, Oral Tablet & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of HealthRX tirzepatide — LegitScript-certified, a rare oral tablet, 503A compounding, company-stated pricing, and the catches.
ReadLumen Meds Tirzepatide Review: Cost, a Disclosed Legal Address & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of Lumen Meds tirzepatide — LegitScript certified, a named Delaware legal entity, and a first-month promo worth reading closely.
ReadPrimary Clinic (Direct GLP) Tirzepatide Review: Cost, a Direct Primary Care Model & Honest Verdict (2026)
An honest 2026 review of Primary Clinic (Direct GLP) tirzepatide — a Direct Primary Care membership with wholesale-cost GLP-1s and JavaScript-only pricing.
Read